Warning: Some images may include people who have passed away.

The Pitjantjatjara Council Aboriginal Corporation is an organisation representing Ngaanyatjarra, Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara people and their communities and outstations in Western Australia, South Australia and the Northern Territory, covering an area of around 350,000 square kilometres. Communities and homelands extend from Coober Pedy in South Australia to west of Warburton in Western Australia, and include Docker River, Mutitjulu, Imanpa and Finke in the Northern Territory.

The Ngaanyatjarra, Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara people formed the Pitjantjatjara Council in 1976. The Council became the focal point for political and land-based discussions and negotiations with governments and the mining industry. It was the group through which decisions were made and negotiations conducted with the South Australian Government in relation to the Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act.

The primary objective of the Pitjantjatjara Council is to aid wherever and whenever possible, the well-being of Anangu and their culture. The Council's objectives are to develop appropriate means of managing their traditional land within the Council area and in so doing to assist in alleviating the significant social and economic problems of Anangu. It also aims to arrest the social disintegration within NPY Communities by ensuring that programs and actions are in accordance with cultural values and practice and it promotes improved educational opportunities for Anangu and their families.

For many years, the Council refocussed its role as a primary custodian for Cultural Heritage for the NPY Lands, directing and supporting the Ara Irititja project.



Richard Kanari - Chairman 2015